The flowers that blooms in spring!

Spring is one of the four seasons succeeding winter and preceding summer. When it is spring in Southern Hemisphere, it is autumn in Northern Hemisphere and vice versa. As the season progresses, nighttime becomes small and daytime increases. It is a season of growth. Every gardener dreams of spring flowers during winters and eagerly waits for spring flowers. Springs arrives at different times depending upon where you live. Most blooms are similar.

Spring blooms –

Witch-hazels – are a genus of flowering plants in the family of Hamamelidaceae, and three species are found in North America, one each in China and Japan. It is a small tree growing to 10–25 feet tall, rarely to 40 ft. The leaves are arranged alternatively oval, 2–6 in long and 1–4 in broad, with a smooth or wavy margin. There are five different varieties Hamamelis japonica, Hamamelis Mollis, Hamamelis ovalis, Hamamelis vernalis, Hamamelis virginiana.

Crocus – is a genus of flowering plants in the Iris family. It has 90 species of perennials that grow from a corm. They are cultivated for their flowers which appear in spring, winter, and autumn. The spice saffron is obtained from the stigma of Crocus Sativus, which blooms in autumn.

Hellebores – It has almost 20 species of evergreen perennial or herbaceous flowering plant and belongs to the buttercup family Ranunculaceae. Many species are poisonous and often known as Christmas Rose and Lenten Rose. The flowers bloom in late November and until spring, depending on the species or hybrid.

Camellia – is a genus of flowering plants in the family Theaceae. It is found in southern and eastern Asia, from the Himalayas east to Japan and Indonesia. There are 100-300 species, and there is some controversy over exact numbers. There are also around 3,000 hybrids. It blooms in mild winter climates or early spring in slightly harsher areas.

Daffodil – is a genus of predominantly spring flowering perennial plants. It belongs to the amaryllis family Amaryllidaceae family and has conspicuous flowers with six petal-like tepals surmounted by a cup- or trumpet-shaped corona. The flowers are generally white and yellow with either contrasting or uniform colored corona and tepals. 

Forsythia – is a genus of flowering plants in the Olive family Oleaceae. 11 species are there and mostly found in eastern Asia but one found in southeastern Europe. It is named after William Forsyth. The species include Forsythia Europaea, Forsythia giraldiana, Forsythia intermedia, Forsythia japonica, Forsythia koreana, Forsythia likiangensis, Forsythia mandschurica, Forsythia Mira, Forsythia ovata, Forsythia saxatilis, Forsythia suspense, Forsythia togashii, Forsythia velutina, Forsythia viridissima. 



About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment